Interview With Brian Buckley of the Brian Buckley Band

This past weekend I had the wonderful opportunity to have a phone-interview with Brian Buckley from the Brian Buckley Band. Brian as you would expect is probably one of the most sincere, genuine down-to-earth guys that I ever had the pleasure of talking to. He has a friendly and calm deposition to him that allows for the most at ease conversations.

Brian is truly a musician who is passionate not only of his own music, but music in general. He appreciates every moment that his band is able to perform and share their music, but also the opportunity to connect on a more personal level and create memories that will withstand a lifetime.

AM: According to your bio, you do a vocal exercise called “singing to the gods,” and the way you describe it is like giving yourself over to the moment. I never heard a statement like that before, how did that ritual become to be?

Brian: Well, I suppose it was a compulsive thing. I was never really trained or took singing classes. I kinda just did whatever I did instinctually. I am incredibly influenced by Native American singing and Middle Eastern singing. I am floored by the way they use their range. And I will do a little warm up beforehand, and get on stage instead of plowing into a song, which we [band] do occasion more often than not. I like to jam with the band and enjoy a few cords and I do a little singing to whatever spiritual being that is watching us in that particular moment. I know it sounds like a strange thing to hear, but it is incredibly fruitful for us because it allows you to kinda warm up into what you are doing and take the pulse of the crowd and it allows you to relax and make sure that everything is going to be okay. I think in most bands, we tend to step on stage and feel like we need to present and create an immediate portrait of what we do. It is like “let’s blow everybody’s minds”, but when you get down to brass tacks it is much more spiritual than that. I think that if you embrace that the audience will accompany you on that journey. I know it is a weird answer…

AM: No, it is like you are giving thanks for the moment and the opportunity to share your music with other people.

Brian: You are absolutely right. It is entirely giving thanks to being up there to perform, to music in general, to God, to a thank you to everybody being incredible enough to open their hearts to what we are doing. Most of the time it is all about listening. When we go to a club or to see a movie we expect people to fail.  We go to critique and immediately judge and when we witness something off that beaten path it is interesting. Where are they going to take me with the expected four people in a band carrying around the typical instruments [bass, guitar, vocal mics, and drums]and you kinda think that you are ready for a rock sound and then you don’t necessarily get that, you have to conform to the experiences that you are getting and it is definitely giving thanks for sure.

AM: Also, in your bio you state your musical influences: Jeff Buckley, Radiohead, Dave Mathews Band, Elbow, Pearl Jam…why are they your musical influences?

Brian: Well I think for the large part is because I have being listening to them for so long and when you find a really terrific band that breaks traditionally boundaries of music you tend to revisit them and when you revisit them you associate a particular emotion that you are going through that time like a break up and listen to the song you are in good company. They [musical influences] were always home for me. You go back home after college, a vacation, or whatever and going back home there is always a feeling of being back in a bubble…being in a comfortable space and being able to fully relax and let go.

AM: It is almost like seeing an old friend again

Brian: Absolutely. It is something like when you go home and you eat your mom’s chicken dinner that she makes so well and then you go and lay on your bed and you feel so at ease. That is how it is like with those bands for me. I have been listening to those bands for years and years and I am simultaneously inspired and challenged by them to the point that I don’t even want to pick up another instrument ever again because they are masters at what they do. On the other hand at times all I want to do is pick up an instrument and match their effort. It is incredible to me the idea of trying to associate with the mass public in a very unique way because more often and not we have strict limitations to what mass appeal is. You have pop and radio is going after a particular kind of sound and the band environment or the singer/songwriter environment is estranged from its roots because you don’t have the people. But then you go to a…let’s say an Elbow concert and you see 5,000 people, there is a sense of astonishment and you go ‘hey I do have brothers and sisters,’ it is not just people cranking up Lil’ Wayne. This thing like being in a club, there are more profound things to happen, nothing against to Lil’ Wayne and what he has done, but as far as musically being an instrument to not just the digital prowess and not just being in the studio and create that way you have to worry about a live setting and worry about melodies and harmonies and the pace of a set, when you don’t have millions of dollars backing you up, it is one hell of a fight. It is incredible challenge because the opposite is what successful nowadays. People want that connection then they hear a song over and over again on the radio they don’t search it out anymore. But when you are able to connect with someone on a holy-your own in a sorta way, there is no greater experience like it. That is what I feel like with those bands.

AM: Recently, you played at the Viper Room and at the Hard Rock and you have upcoming shows in October in Chicago at the Elbo Room and at the Supernatural Chicago Convention. How does the band prepare for the different venues and sometimes different audiences? Is there a difference or do you rely on the energy coming from the audience to set up the tempo?

Brian: Both, really. We pride ourselves on being able to adapt to whatever environment we are in. Ebbing and flowing is what we are most proud of especially in a live setting. It can be pretty difficult to try to maintain a connection with the audience that does not know you or that does, but isn’t quite converted yet. We like that challenge, but we prep in particular in ways like if it is in a more acoustic setting we will manipulate what we do in a small way, but we try not to do that too much because like you said we rely on the energy of the performance that is indeed entirely correct. You have to go in being confident that even if the sound is perfect or the bass isn’t kicking it the way you want it to, you have to hope and pray that all works out. It is like playing Roulette, every show we try to bet the house and we just put it all out there. I, mean, any audience can tell when someone is not being truly themselves. People kinda assume that the smoke and mirrors will help, but that is just not the case. An audience is almost like a director for an actor, and they can walk up to you after a song and say that was crappy take. You can tell when something is happening or when something isn’t and when you leave everything on the floor and bleed in front of them, nine times out of ten they will be right there with you.

AM: How would you describe your sound?

Brian: That is probably the most impossible question to answer. We been asked this question before and it is incredible difficult question to answer, because categorizing music is something that I think got us to this particular place of mainstream kinda of badness.  But if I have to absolutely have to, I would say experimental rock. We have some folksiness to us, a definite singer/songwriter feel, but there is a very heavy rock sound we have, with an experimental side to us.

AM: I also noticed some blues qualities to a couple of your songs too.

Brian: Definitely. We try to stick our fingers into the pot and use any ingredients we find. We want our own sound. We want to be influenced by everybody, but in the end we want our own sound. So if we are not open to everything, we will be closed to what we need to become.

AM: It is like the band wants the best possible representation of their lyrics.

Brian: Absolutely. We don’t want to leave any rocks unturned. If it takes a more bluesy melody or a more hard-edge metal mentality to secure the kind of vision we have for the track then that is what it takes. It is funny, sometimes we will look at each other after a song and say ‘that sounds like Genesis, how cool’ or we will work on something else and say it reminds us of something else, but let’s make sure it is not anywhere close to that, but also let’s make sure there is an opinion of playing an homage to the people who have done it so brilliantly before us.

AM:  Is there a song on the album that you really resonate with?

Brian: Well, all of them to varying degrees. But if I had to choose presently and one that I am in the middle of that right now that would have to be “Coo Coo.” The song is about losing your mind and being not able to maintain anymore. It is about letting go and that is a scary, terrifying awful place to be in, but the flip side of that is sometimes the most glorious and most beautiful to imagine.

AM: It can be very freeing to just let go.

Brian: Yes, definitely. I was in Mexico when I was writing the song and going through some pretty heavy panic attacks and finally I got to the point where I just embraced as oppose to the point where I just fought against. It was a very cool personal moment to have I believe that everyone goes through this moment one way or another. When you get to that place, where you are so fed up with fighting yourself, it just becomes so ridiculous, because you wonder why you did so in the first place. So that is where it came from. So as far as resonating currently with any song or record, it would have to be that. Every song that I have written or that band’s helped to write in the cases of “Bye, Blue Sky” or “Violent Eyes” or created their own parts for we have a story that we are trying tell with every song and we take it very seriously.

AM: I haven’t had the opportunity to see you perform live, but seeing the band on live-stream and on YouTube, the band seems to connect whole heartily with your audience, do you guys ever think of recording a live album in the upcoming future?

Brian: You know we really want to. Actually, we were thinking of doing it at the Troubadour or at the El Rey and we were thinking at doing at either one of those.  Then we gave it some thought and Jared Padalecki who supported the band since day one or more like day zero really had offered to do the recording at his house.  He has a very beautiful home and the resonation and reverb is pretty extraordinary. He suggested we invite some friends, light up the microphones and just play it there and we thought it was such a killer idea. You know most of the time, you want to go to a venue when you do something like that and the unfortunate thing about that is unless you are spending an exuberant amount of money you don’t have the control sonically that you would like. So in this particular case, we would get that and it would be a low-key affair that could be really interesting. So I think we might do that at some point, if not by the end of the year then certainly before we get on the road next year. It should be fun!

AM: Are there any performances or venues that stick out the most for you?

Brian: You, know I love the House of Blues on Sunset and we just played up at the San Diego and Las Vegas House of Blues they were all great, but the main stage in L.A. is just a beautiful place and they treat the artist lovely and they really take care of them and make sure the sound is exactly what the artist envisions. I love the Viper Room. The Mint has always been a huge home to us, a place we had a residency for about a year, a really great venue that takes care of their musicians. Those are probably my top three in Los Angeles, but as for the rest of the world we are always quickly in cities and quickly out. We don’t get as much of a chance to revisit some venues to really gain a relationship them, hopefully that will all change next year when we are on the road consistently, but in L.A. those are probably my favorites. I also love The Wiltern, we haven’t played there yet, but it is a gorgeous venue and they always have incredible acts, so that is another fantastic place.

AM: What have you learned the most from your band mates as a performer and as songwriter?

Brian: Probably to not force the issue. I think as songwriter, as a performer, as a member of a band, any medium of art…a painter, you tend to force the issue because most artists are control freaks. They envision, I am going to be totally frank with you, a masterpiece that everyone will fall in love with and it is never ever the case. I don’t care who you are, you are going screw up and you are going to have problems arise that you wouldn’t see normally. Once again, going back to the whole idea of embracing it, you take it in and turn it into something wonderful then you are golden. If you concern yourself what people think or what they may or may not like, then nothing is going to work out. You have to let the moment come to you and the minute you start to manipulate and control things and try to make that art into a piece of plato that you are turning into a castle, it will still be a piece of plato at the end of the day. You have to let it resolve on its own.

AM: So what you are saying, it has to be authentic…organic.

Brian: Yes, organic is the perfect word. It should be organic, as authentic as it you wish it to be…as you envisioned. Eventually, you are gonna have to let go of it. After you finish writing a song, it isn’t your song anymore. It is the audience’s song, it is whoever listens to song, it will always be forever from you, but it isn’t yours anymore. I mean how many people lives were changed by U2’s song “With or Without You?” So many lovers across the planet have bawled their eyes out, because U2 gave it to everyone. This is from us to you; it is our very own love letter. I hope you get something from it, and that is all you can wish, I hope one person can associate with this and when they are weeping over a broken heart or lost adoration for a lover that doesn’t return their phone call; they will look back and go ‘thank god, I had that home base to return to.’ I am a firm believer that not forcing it is probably the most important thing you learn on anyone’s journey as an artist. I am still learning it, trust me you can still ask the band they will tell you completely, ‘he still hasn’t learned it,’ but we do the best we can.

AM: Is there a current band that you would like to collaborate with in the future?

Brian: All the bands that are in my influences. Yes, definitely. I am a huge Elliot Smith and unfortunately he is no longer with us, so that is probably a no go. I love Bon Iver, Glen Hansard. I am just a ginormous Glen Hansard fan. I just think he sings from his diaphragm and far beyond, like he reaches from the depths of hell and sings to the heavens. He is just a phenomenal l singer, so any of those, but in particular it would Elbow, Radiohead and Dave Matthews Band are my top three. If there was a Brian Buckley strange scenario world and I was able to collaborate with any of them, I just may retire immediately afterwards.

AM: You would be one happy guy.

Brian: Yes I would. I could sleep peacefully for eternity.

AM: What does the band have coming up in the rest on 2011?

Brian: Well, we are in the studio working on a film score.

AM: That sounds amazing.

Brian: Thank you, it really is. We are incredibly excited for the opportunity and we cannot talk about it yet, but we will be pretty much be in studio solid for the soundtrack that will serve as our next album. So that is incredibly exciting. Then we are going to Chicago to play a few shows in October.  Then Mike, the electric guitarist is getting married and then I am getting married the following month, so we are pretty packed band wise and personal wise.

AM: Congratulations two you both.

Brian: Thank you, thank very much. We definitely both appreciate it.

AM: What is your musical guilty pleasure?

Brian: Musical guilty pleasure….that is a really good question.  I would have to say….wow; I don’t even know what to say. That is a really good question, I got many of them, but I am trying to figure out my favorite. Damn, that is a question. I guess maybe Arrested Development; they were a hip-hop group from the late 90s that sang “People Everyday” and “Tennessee.” I wouldn’t say guilty, because it is not like I am saying Nysnc , but because they were an amazing band; but guilty in the sense that every time that I listen to them I become a cheerleader with pom poms jumping up and down!

AM: Now, this is the last question.

Brian: Okay, shoot.

AM: I know that you are a Supernatural fan, are you excited for the Supernatural Premiere?

Brian: I am! I am actually, I am very excited! I was just texting Jared about it. The way they left the last season was really cool and I am just sitting on the edge of my seat, wondering how they are going to move forward. I try not to press him too hard for any secrets, because I want to be just as surprised as anyone else, but I won’t lie to you, there are certain instances that I text him and say ‘alright bro, you gotta tell me, cause  I can’t wait seven more freakin’ days.’ I am really looking forward to it!

******************

With that we concluded the interview and he once again expressed his gratitude to all the fans for being so supportive of the band. Brian is truly an amazing musician to talk to about music and essentially about life, really. Because music is all about sharing your passion, your life,  your stories with another and being able to connect with someone on a personal level in a way that only a song can do, just like what the Brian Buckley Band is setting out to accomplish. Brian and the band are such talented performers and the sound that they create and the lyrics they write are truly their own. There is nothing like it and it draws you like a moth to a flame. They are certainly a band that you do not want to miss. Brian and the Band are forging their own paths and their own journeys and they are taking all of us along on the ride. I for one, I am excited to see where they take us next.

 

For more information, check out Brian Buckley Band
For more information on their concert on October 20th 2011, at the Elbo Room in Chicago, check out Elbo Room Chicago
For more information on their show at the Supernatural Chicago Convention, please see Creation Entertainment